Skip to content
Award Winners

The Association for Business Psychology (ABP) hosted a spectacular event at The Leonardo in St Paul’s, London, on Wednesday, November 8th, 2023, to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements in the field of business psychology. The ABP Awards 2023 brought together industry leaders, experts, and visionaries for a night of inspiration and recognition, acknowledging and awarding honorary members and recognising excellence in 26 award categories.

Keynote Speaker, John Amaechi OBE, delivered a thought-provoking address during the conference in the day, diving into the complexities of leadership and the power of a strengths-based approach. His insights set the stage for a night that recognised not only achievement but the necessity of standards to deliver excellence in business psychology.

The awards followed the prestigious 2023 conference, which this year invited practitioners from multiple industries to participate in a series of roundtables inviting and encouraging engagement and discussion about hot topics in the industry. The finalists were invited to present their entries to spark conversation to delegates who could select the talks and roundtables of most interest to them and their professional development.

ABP Chair Clodagh O’Reilly expressed her appreciation for the dedication and innovation displayed by this year’s nominees and winners. She stated, “The ABP Awards 2023 showcased the incredible talent and dedication in our field. It’s truly inspiring to see the impact that business psychology can have on organisations and individuals. We extend our gratitude to all the participants, sponsors, and supporters who made this event possible.”

During the event, the ABP recognised several individuals for their ongoing contribution to Business Psychology and the association itself, naming John Amaechi OBE as an honorary member. The status acknowledges that he is not only highly respected in the field of Business Psychology, but he is also recognised as an influential thinker in HR, a trusted advisor to his clients, an outstanding advocate for the practice of business psychology, a committed mentor, and a role model for practitioners.

Clodagh O’Reilly said, “We cannot thank him enough for the time and commitment he has shown to our humble Association and its members, supporting our Management Board, speaking at our Events, and taking an active interest in our success.”

Also awarded honorary membership were Ben Williams and Dr Rachel Lewis. In announcing Ben’s selection for this honour, the Chair of the ABP added, “Ben’s selection for Honorary membership is not just about his career achievements.  In addition to his varied and impressive career as a Business Psychologist, Ben has always included service to the industry beyond the paid work that he was doing.”

Dr Lewis was awarded because, as the Chair announced, “So much of what Rachel has done has demonstrated the value of applying psychology in work settings, to improve working lives, and so advocating for business psychology across the country, and beyond.”

The conference and awards invited hundreds of delegates from multiple industries beyond just business psychology, including HR, Learning and Development and Organisational Development, and from across the globe to gain a deeper understanding of how business psychology impacts individuals and companies.

The ABP Awards 2023 recognised exceptional contributions in various categories, including Leadership, Employee Engagement, Change Management, Talent Management, and more. The winners and highly commended entrants represent the highest standards of excellence in business psychology.

ABP Awards 2023 Winners

Board Member of the Year – Stewart Desson
Honorary Member(s) of the Year – John Amaechi, Ben Williams, Rachael Lewis
Best business psychology practitioner –  Louisa Scanlon
Best business psychology supplier – CAJA Ltd
Best business psychology team (in house) – Natwest Group
Best business psychology consultancy – Affinity Health at Work
Bespoke and Customised Assessment – Sten10/Talogy
Specialist assessment & selection – Amberjack and Virgin Atlantic/LHH
Early Career Assessment and Selection – Saville Assessment/SHL
Digital Technology – Talogy & the Cabinet Office/Amberjack and Virgin Atlantic
Change management: public sector – Caja Ltd/Affinity Health at Work
Change Management: Private sector – Psychology Works/The Work Psychologists
Talent Management – ETS (Expert Training Systems PLC)/Lumina
L&D techniques and tools – SHL/Affinity Health at Work
L&D Strategies for Operational Excellence – MindGym and Citi!/Rebekah Giffney Consulting
Bespoke L&D for Leadership and Management – Arup/ETS & Gatehouse Bank
Diversity, Equality and Inclusion: Public Sector – Work Psychology Group and College of Policing/ Amberjack and Police Now
Diversity, Equality and Inclusion – private sector – HireVue/Sten10 Ltd
Social impact – Lumina Learning/Perform and Grow Ltd
Environment, Social and Governance (ESG) – Arup/Lumina Learning
Health & Wellbeing – Aneurin Bevan University Health Board / NHS Wales/Hogrefe
Employee Engagement – ETS (Expert Training Systems PLC)/MindGym and Citi
Coaching – The Work Psychologists/Café Coach
Innovation – MindGym and Citi/HireVue
Peter Saville Rising Star – Chris Lovell
Chair’s Choice – MindGym and Citi

The ABP extends its heartfelt thanks to all the sponsors who made the ABP Awards 2023 possible, including Lumina Learning, Talogy and Sten10. Their support is instrumental in recognising excellence and fostering innovation in the field of business psychology.

Back To Top