Skip to content

Following current government guidelines, we are still unable to hold a face to face AGM, but we are pleased to be able to now hold this year’s AGM virtually via Zoom on Tuesday 29 September at 6.00pm. This change to the norm is due to the Corporate Insolvency and Governance Act 2020 having been passed into law on 26 June, which allows organisations such as ours to be able to hold meetings electronically due to the exceptional circumstances brought about by Covid-19.

2020 has been an unprecedented year for all of us, but the work of the ABP in bringing people together (virtually) is more important than ever in times like these and member numbers have risen during 2020.  The AGM will be a great opportunity for members of the Management Board to reflect upon what we have achieved this year.

We are frequently looking for new volunteers to take on roles and assignments to help progress the ABP in its vision to become “The Home and Voice of Business Psychology”. If you would like to help us collectively change the world of work for everyone, and can volunteer your time to helping us achieve that, we would love to hear from you.

Our list of 14 Board members can be found on the following page, as well as on the Members Area of our website. We have worked hard this year to assign functional areas to each of our Board members to lead to ensure greater responsibility and accountability.  As a result, this year, we will not be encouraging new Board member applications as we would like to move towards a model whereby we invite Board member applications only from those Members with skills in those particular areas where we are lacking expertise.

While we are delighted to be able to hold our AGM virtually, unfortunately there are restrictions on member involvement as a consequence. We will be asking Members to pre-register to attend the AGM, and to vote in advance of the AGM via the Members Area on the ABP website, or via post or, if that is not possible. Please note the deadline for submitting questions and registering is 5pm on Thursday 24 September.

To access the AGM documentation please login to the members area of the website here.

In addition, due to the temporary regulations governing electronic AGMs, Members are not allowed to interact and ask questions during the AGM as they would otherwise be entitled to do under normal circumstances. We have therefore also set up a form in the Members Area of the website, so that you can pre-submit any questions which we will try to answer either during or following the AGM.  We do regret the change to proceedings and hope you understand this is beyond our control.


Please diarise the date, and register to join us for the virtual meeting to be held on:-


Tuesday 29 September 2020 at 6.00pm

Details of the Zoom link for the AGM will be sent by 6.00pm on Sunday 27 September 2020 to all those who have registered via the website or who have confirmed attendance via email to

Please do stay online to join us for an informal virtual drink after the AGM at approximately 7pm.

We hope to (virtually) see you then and thank you for your valued commitment to the ABP.



A maximum of 16 places exist on the Management Board (including its officers: Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary) and elected places are usually for a period of up to three years.

Guy Cohen (Treasurer) and Stewart Desson (Head of London Events), both currently co-opted onto the Board will be formally nominated for election at the AGM on 28 September 2020. Unless the number of Board members nominated exceeds the number of vacancies on the Board, no Member vote will be required to elect these Board Members.

List of Board members as at August 2020:

  • Ben Williams (Chair: elected 2020, retiring 2022)
  • Lucy Standing (Vice Chair: elected 2018, retiring 2021)
  • Guy Cohen (Treasurer: co-opted June 2020) will stand
  • Jo Floyd (Secretary: elected 2019, retiring 2022)
  • Steve Apps (elected 2018, retiring 2021)
  • Uzma Alfridi (elected 2018, retiring 2021)
  • Richard Chataway (elected 2018, retiring 2021) Resigned July 2020
  • Stewart Desson (co-opted Aug 2018) will stand
  • Alex Forsythe (elected 2019, retiring 2022)
  • Gabriele Galassi (elected 2019, retiring 2022)
  • Gonzalo Lopez (Conference Dean: co-opted November 2019)
  • Michelle Minnikin (elected 2019, retiring 2022)
  • Sukh Pabial (elected 2018, retiring 2021)
  • Nicky Thompson (elected 2019, retiring 2022)
  • Sarah Jane Thain (elected 2019) Resigned December 2019
  • Uzma Waseem (elected 2018, retiring 2021)

Note: The terms of office of all retiring and co-opted Board members expire at the AGM.

Thank you for your continued support of the ABP. We hope to continue to enjoy your support as we pursue our purpose in the years to come.

Back To Top