skip to Main Content

Steve Apps
Dear all,

So, my first message as Chair of the ABP.

I’m not sure if I’m excited, daunted or what! I would like to start by recognising the incredible contribution of Clodagh O’Reilly (former Chair).

I have known Clodagh for over 6 years and count her as a close friend. Her commitment to the ABP has been second to none. She built on the great work of previous Chairs in continuing our path to become an organisation recognised as a governor, custodian and ambassador of Business Psychology. Clodagh’s energy, commitment and passion for promoting this agenda is remarkable. She is an inspiration to me and many others. Thank you Clodagh.

If you would like to know more about our achievements and the ups and downs of the last three years, I encourage you to read the Officer’s reports from the 2015 AGM which you can find in the Member’s Area. Also, please find attached a parting message from Clodagh.

A special mention goes to Debbie Hance who has retired from the Board after 6 years of service. Debbie has contributed consistently over the years and has been a great historical source and knowledge base for us. However, she’s not getting away so easily and will continue to play a role ensuring the health and wellbeing of the board is maintained as the Minister for Fun!

I’d like to say a big thank you to others who retired at the AGM, namely Naysan FiroozmandNatalie HoltMike Thompson and Myke Trinder. Over the last 3 years, they have all contributed to progressing the Association. They gave their time, skills and wisdom for the good of the Association. On behalf of the ABP, thank you.

And congratulations to our new joiners – Lucy Standing (Vice-Chair), Funmi Koya (Secretary), Esther English (Treasurer), Steve Carter (External Partnerships) and Antonio Pangallo (Industry Standards). You have all already contributed much to the Association and I look forward to working with you to further build on our strategy and purpose.

Also congratulations and thanks to Stewart Desson (Speaker Events) and Scott Lichtenstein (University Accreditation) who both enter their second term contributing to the ABP. Your consistent and valuable contribution is hugely appreciated.

A special mention to those who have watched the changes unfold whilst keeping the wheels turning – namely Adina Tarry (Strategic Innovation and Business Services), Dilip Boury (Industry Standards), Maria Gardner (Comms Strategy), Nana-Efua Otoo (International) and Nicole Stead (Conference Dean 2015).

David Lurie joins us as a Special Advisor to the Board, supporting our work in Industry Standards and defining an accreditation process. And Porteur Keenefrom Change Board will be supporting us in extending our reach across industry and into Corporates. There are many other people supporting the ABP with strategy, the new book, the Conference (26-28 Nov) and many other activities. We will send further details on our strategy and our wider team later.

And now to a new chapter (book launch pun intended!). We had our first ‘New Board’ meeting on the 27th July and will continue to solidify our financial position whilst shaping our priorities over the next 12 months. So expect to hear from us over the coming months on what we are doing, why, and how you can contribute.




Back To Top